Downloading Movies to your Xbox360

So I saw Wrath of Khan and I figured hey, why not. I’ve only seen snippets of it on TV, and it’s only 240 Microsoft Points.

OH NOES! – I was in the middle of writing this post when I decided to start the download of Wrath of Khan. An error message popped up:

The download could not be completed. Please try again later. Any points you used for this transaction have already been deducted from your balance and will not be deducted again. Status code: 8007000a

I looked at Major Nelson’s post about the Video Marketplace again, and saw that he gave a link to the Video Marketplace Forums. I saw that there’s a thread about this exact error!

Some people are saying that they restarted their console and everything was fine..although some people are saying that they restarted their console and nothing is different. I’m going to try to download it again and if it fails again, I’ll try restarting my console.

Ahhh….it’s giving me the “Download Again” dialog…good times! Uh oh…it’s not looking good! (I’m typing this as it’s happening) Ahh! The same error popped up! I’m going to try restarting the 360. I’m doing it the nice way, by the controller, instead of the power button on the 360 itself. Good sign – after restarting the 360 it still is saying that I can download again…but it’s not looking too good. It’s holding at 0% completed. There it goes! Status code: 8007000a. Trying again…no; again…no; again…wait! I think the little bar moved! Wait a minute…I hope that this works! I shall use my awesome magic super 1337ness to make it work! Come on…I believe in you! Hmmmmm….It’s still at 0%…OMG! TEH ROXXORZ, it’s at 1%!!!! WOOT!

The solution for Status code 8007000a is to keep trying to download it, apparently.
It’s at 3%!!!

OK!  Now on with the original purpose of this thread!

I’m downloading Star Trek II The Wrath of Khan for 240 Microsoft Points.  The file is 1.51 GB.  HERE ARE SOME THINGS THAT EVERY SINGLE PERSON WHO IS EVEN THINKING OF BUYING ANY KIND OF VIDEO OFF OF THE XBOXLIVE VIDEO MARKETPLACE NEEDS TO KNOW:

When you purchase a video off of the XboxLive Video Marketplace, you do not own it.  It’s a rental* that expires one of two ways.  The provided Media Usage Rights describes it well:

The license rights to this content is limited in its term and duration to 14 days from its original date and time of download or 24 hours from the start of its initial play, whichever occurs first.  You may view the content as many times as you want for this period of time.

Something else that you NEED to know, and if you know it, you NEED to keep it in mind…Just because it is only 240 Microsoft Points ($3), if you have less than that already, you will need to purchase at least 500 Microsoft Points ($6.25) since that is the lowest available chunk of Microsoft Points.  But hey – keep in mind that I don’t mind.  I’m downloading Wrath of Khan as I type this, it’s at 17%, and I’m going to enjoy it.

3 Responses to “Downloading Movies to your Xbox360”

  1. Play Now « My Thoughts Says:

    […] My Thoughts A wise man once said nothing and simply listened. Too bad that wasn’t me. « Downloading Movies to your Xbox360 […]

  2. Randy Gregg Says:

    Wow. Well I have yet to actually see a movie. We have tried a couple and get the same message. It gets to about 12-16% and then up pops 8007000a. At first I realized I did not have enought disk space left. That problem corrected and I still get the same error. It is like it hits a segment it can’t download. I tried the support line and they were clueless. Did not even know what the status message meant. Too Bad. It was a great concept.

  3. Free Microsoft Points Says:

    Nice write-up

Leave a Reply

